June 15, 2009

IRL: Iowa's last two races

With only two previous Iowa Speedway races in the Indy Racing League book, there isn't a lot to go on this week, but fantasy players may find some inspiration in who ran well in these few events.

Dario Franchitti took last year off to make an attempt at NASCAR Sprint Cup racing, but before he left, he won his only race at Iowa after starting third. This short track was patterned after Richmond International Raceway and on that course, he's been nearly perfect with finishes of second (2005), third (2006) and first (2007) in four attempts. That speaks volumes about his odds for this week.

Marco Andretti has run both Iowa races and he's been close to perfect. With a second in 2007 and a third in 2008, he's come close to winning twice. Perhaps there is something in short track racing that is appealing to his somewhat aggressive style of competition. By contrast, his teammates Tony Kanaan (with a 16th in 2007 and an 18th last year) and Danica Patrick (13th and sixth respectively) have not been nearly as strong.

Last year's winner Dan Wheldon proved that fantasy players cannot always rely strictly on past records. After a modest showing of 11th in 2007, he stormed into victory lane last year, so don't be afraid to take drivers with momentum on their side.

Average finish, last two races

DriverAvg Finish20082007
Dario Franchitti1.00
Hideki Mutoh2.002
Marco Andretti2.5032
Scott Sharp 3.00
Dan Wheldon6.00111
Ryan Briscoe7.007
Scott Dixon7.00410
Sarah Fisher7.00
Ryan Hunter-Reay8.008
Anthony Foyt IV8.50512
Will Power9.009
Danica Patrick9.50613
Graham Rahal10.0010
Helio Castroneves 11.00148
John Andretti11.0011
Justin Wilson12.0012
Vitor Meira12.00159
E J Viso13.0013
Buddy Rice13.00224
Darren Manning13.00215
Sam Hornish Jr14.00
Ed Carpenter14.50236
Kosuke Matsuura15.00
Oriol Servia16.0016
Tony Kanaan17.001816
Jeff Simmons17.00
Enrique Bernoldi17.0017
Mario Moraes19.0019
Tomas Scheckter 19.00
Jaime Camara20.0020
Milka Duno21.002418
Bruno Junqueira25.0025
Marty Roth26.0026

More Indy Racing League Newsbreakers

No comments:

Post a Comment